Childhood Memory by Amiah Caffee

The  mustard colored seats scrape the dusty crayon covered tiles of the floor

The long eyelashes of the children in the room sweep their cheeks their eyes free of bore

The teacher, a spring chicken, with  curls of honey flowing down her back

Her smiling  face making the rainy day sunny

She picks up pale white sheets of paper and slowly passes them to each pupil

And delivers them nicely like mail in the morning

I sit and I wait, smiling with glee waiting for the knowledge my brain will receive

I look at the test she handles with care, the ten question math test that I came prepared

I pick up my pencil and write my name

I look at the question a little confused but then I soon curve eights and swirl my twos

A few minutes pass on the clock and my friend comes back face curved down and eyes real dark…

I knew he didn’t do as well as he thought

On my last question I sit and I think

My friend want to be twins, he tells me to get the last one wrong or our friendship will not last long

Greatly conflictedI don’t know what to do, so I answer the question and turn in with my paper low

I get it back 100 percent and he walks away

Guess I knew what our friendship meant…

One thought on “Childhood Memory by Amiah Caffee

Leave a comment